The Session of the Philippines Central Conference starts

The delegates of the Philippines Central Conference Session during the welcoming program

The delegates of the Philippines Central Conference Session during the welcoming program

From December 11 until Dec 16, 2012 will hold the much awaited session of the Philippines Central Conference which meet every four years which the main purpose is to elect bishops to be assigned in the three episcopal areas in Philippine church of the United Methodist Church. This session of the conference with the theme based from the United Methodist Church mission, “Making Disciples of Jesus Christ to transform the world” will be held in Bayombong United Methodist Church in Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya [updated].

Matters that affect in the national level will also be decided upon this session of the highest policy making body in the Philippines. And one of the main event is the election of bishops which makes the delegates from the annual conferences both clergy and lay are excited about.

Bishop Rudy Juan of the Baguio Area is up for re-election. Bishop Daniel Arichea who is an ad interim bishop for Manila Area is retiring and also Bishop Leo Soriano of Davao Area will retire. There will be two or three new bishops to be elected this session of the central conference.

People are hoping for a leadership in the church that will lead them in discipleship which is the main mission of the church. Some are praying that the national leadership will give attention to the situation of church workers, mission areas and also the properties under the church. It is also hoped that the church would also pursue ministries which are relevant to the times and the need of the country.

The youth and young adult organization has pursued participation as many of them were elected as delegates by their respective annual conferences an opportunity for the young people to be part in the decision making for the church in the national level.

From the Southern Tagalog Provisional Philippines Annual Conference East, three principal delegates among the clergy and also form the lay will attend to this conference. The delegation is headed by Rev. Dr. Igmedio Domingo Jr. of Sta Rosa UMC and former DS of the Laguna Quezon Mission District (which is now the STPPACE) and along with him is Rev. Edgardo Cruz and Rev. DS Joel Capulong of Laguna District. From the laity the principal delegates were Julie Capulong – the annual conference lay leader, Shirley Valenciano (former annual conference UMWSCS president) and Lito Pealane. But Lito Pealane will not be available so the first alternbate from the lay Danny Corpuz (currently the annual conference UMM president) will be the replacement as he is the 2nd alternate.

The central conference which meets every four years like the general conference is the counterpart of the Jurisditional Conference in the United States.

For more of the central conference and the structure of the United Methodist Church check out this link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s